American Physical Society, Division of Particles and Fields

1737 15094
Award ID:APS-DPF-DPFMENT2020 [#15094]
Award Title: DPF Mentoring Award 2020
Award Type:Fellowship or award
Location:College Park, Maryland 20740-3844, United States [map]
Subject Area: Physics / Particle Physics
Appl Deadline:2020/03/01help popup (posted 2019/10/13, listed until 2020/03/15)

*** The account for Division of Particles and Fields, American Physical Society has expired, and no new applications will be accepted. ***

The Division of Particles and Fields of the American Physical Society is pleased to announce that the Call for Nominations for the 2020 Mentoring Award is now open. 

This APS Unit Award is intended to recognize those who have had an exceptional impact as mentors of particle-physics scientists and students. This mentoring could be through teaching or research or science-related activities and is meant to recognize current achievements, as well as those spanning a career.  

  • Examples of contributions honored by this award include:  
  • exceptional mentoring of early career particle physicists; 
  • sustained commitment to mentoring early career particle physicists from traditionally under-represented backgrounds; 
  • a leadership role in developing early career research and career development activities. 
Successful applications have included letters from students, post-docs, and faculty members.

Early career particle physicists include undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and professionals early in their careers, such as assistant professors or assistant scientists. The award will consist of a certificate indicating the citation chosen by the selection committee, to be awarded at the next DPF Meeting. DPF will reimburse reasonable travel expenses for travel to the award ceremony. 

Nomination packets should consist of at least three but not more than four letters supporting the nomination, a cover letter, and a brief biographical sketch or CV of the candidate. It must also include a list of past and current mentees, as well as their contact information wherever possible. Some past mentees may be contacted during the review process. At least two of the letters should be submitted by individuals who have benefited from the mentoring experience. Nominations must be individual (no team nominations) and only one nomination per candidate will be accepted (no multiple nominations). There are no time limitations on contributions that can be recognized by this award. Nominations will be active and considered for three years.  

Nominations for the 2020 award will be accepted through Academic Jobs Online (AJO) through March 1, 2020 at

 Click the "Nominate" link and you will be guided through the process. Nominators should submit the cover letter and a biographical sketch or CV along with names and email addresses of the letter-writers. Contact the Committee if you experience difficulties with the site or have questions.

2020 Award Committee:
Bonnie Fleming, Chair, Yale U.
Mirjam Cvetic, U. of Pennsylvania
Ken Heller, U. of Minnesota
Pearl Sandick, U. of Utah
Tim Tait, U of California, Irvine

for questions about the AJO site contact Robert Bernstein,

Application Materials Required:
Submit the following items online at this website to complete your nomination:
And anything else requested in the description.

Further Info:
Mail Station 122
PO Box 500
Batavia IL 60510-5011

© 2020 AcademicJobsOnline.Org. All Rights Reserved.